OKLAHOMA LEMON LAW
There are several Lemon Law rules in Oklahoma. The Oklahoma Lemon-Law Statute states that a new vehicle may be a lemon if there is a defect covered by the warranty which substantially impairs the use and value. According to the law, you must have had warranty repair work performed for same defect four or more times during the first year; or the vehicle is out of service because of the repairs for a total of 30 business days during the same period. Our Oklahoma Lemon-Law Attorneys can help you!
If a new vehicle has been out of service for 30 business days or repaired 4 times for the same problem, after written notice, the manufacturer shall either: accept a return of the vehicle from the consumer and refund the full purchase price or provide a comparable new model acceptable to the consumer, if one can be agreed upon. Because of this, we’ve heard some people refer to this as the Oklahoma Car Return Law.
It is important to know that no state agency has enforcement authority over the Oklahoma lemon law. If you have recently purchased a new vehicle and feel that your rights have been violated, you need to contact an Oklahoma Lemon-Law Attorney for advice. The law provides for a fee-shifting provision that allow you to hire us, but allows us to charge our fees to the manufacturer! Learn more about the Oklahoma Lemon Law from the Oklahoma Attorney General’s Office. (NOTE: The AG’s Office will not assist you will forcing the manufacturer to replace or refund your lemon vehicle using this law — only a consumer protection attorney can help you do that!)
WHEELCHAIR LEMON LAW
While many people have heard about the lemon law for cars, many people don’t know that there is a Wheelchair Lemon Law in Oklahoma, just like there is in many other states. The law actually applies to all “assistive devices,” which includes wheelchairs and scooters, hearing aids, Telecommunication Devices for the Deaf (TDDs), voice-synthesized computer modules, optical scanners, talking software, Braille printers. Under the Oklahoma Defective Assistive Device Act, people with disabilities who purchase or lease equipment that does not work can get the item replaced or refunded.
Just like the Oklahoma car lemon law, for assistive equipment to qualify as a “lemon,” you must have attempted to have the wheelchair, hearing aid, or other assistive device repaired at least 4 times in the first year, or, the device must have been out of service for repair attempts for at least 30 days. These do not have to be 30 consecutive days. 30 days whenever they may have occurred in the first year is enough to trigger the statute.
Once the assistive device has been out of service for at least 30 days, you must send a certified letter with delivery confirmation (return receipt) to the manufacturer requesting that they either provide you with a new assistive device or refund your money. The manufacturer then has 30 days to follow your instructions to do one or the other (your choice).
Again, no state agency has enforcement authority over the lemon law for wheelchairs or hearing aids. The Attorney General’s Office will not prosecute these claims. If you feel that your rights have been violated, call Paramount Law for free advice. If the manufacturer does not perform as they are required, we can help you. The law provides for a fee-shifting provision that allows you to hire us, but allows us to charge our fees to the manufacturer!